28 AU Countries Call for Immediate Suspension of RASD

Kigali – Following Sunday’s message of HM King Mohammed VI to the 27th Summit of the African Union (AU), 28 heads of State sent Monday a motion to Driss Deby Itno, President of the Republic of Chad and current Chairman of AU, for the immediate suspension of the so-called “Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic” (RASD).

The 28 heads of State have decided to “act for the immediate suspension of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic from the activities of the African Union and all its bodies, to enable the AU to play a constructive role and contribute positively to UN efforts for a final settlement to the regional dispute over the Sahara”, reads the motion addressed by Ali Bongo Ondimba, President of Gabon, on behalf of 28 UA countries.

These countries are Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Libya, Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sao Tome, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo and Zambia.

Regretting the absence of Morocco in the instances of the African Union, the 28 AU member countries said they are “aware of the specific circumstances in which the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic was admitted to the Organization of African Unity”.

Hailing the content of the historic message of HM King Mohammed VI to the current President of the 27th AU Summit, the heads of State welcomed the decision of the Kingdom of Morocco, “a founding member of the OAU and whose active contribution to the stability and development of the Continent is widely recognized, to rejoin the African Union; and intend to work so that this legitimate return be effective as soon as possible”.

In a message to the 27th AU Summit, HM king Mohammed VI stressed, on Sunday, that “our friends have long been asking us to return among them so that Morocco may take its natural place within its institutional family. That time has now come”.

“Through this historic, responsible act, Morocco seeks to work within the AU to transcend divisions”, the Sovereign pointed out.

With MAP

Previous articleMedCOP: Ségolène Royal Calls for Concrete Actions to Fight Climate Change in Mediterranean
Next articleFull of Text of Motion by 28 AU Countries for Immediate Suspension of RASD